iPad 2

Yes, you are reading this correctly and I know the iPad 2 to many of you is considered as old news now – however I’ve just recently jumped aboard the iPad train and realised what an awesome piece of kit it actually is.

So a good work colleague of mine sold me his 32Gb Wifi iPad 2 last week after initially deciding he was going to trade it in for a New iPad. After taking it to an exchange shop called ‘CEX’ in Edinburgh; fully boxed, in mint condition and with a griffin magnetic case and stylus (+ warranty), the shop confirmed they could only give him a maximum of £205 for it! They would then sell it on for £400+ used.

Giffin Intellicase for iPad 2

As he pretty much had no other options I decided I would take it off his hands for a little extra than £205, so he agreed to sell it to me instead.

So far I’m liking the iPad 2 a lot and I’m still exploring all the different things it can do. I take a lot of notes at work, and I mean a LOT, so this will come in very handy when used alongside the penultimate app – no longer will I need pens or pads of paper. The screen is absolutely gorgeous and very responsive. I installed the LoveFilm app on it last night along with some old photographs I’d taken, and both are just really really nice to look at.

My Acer laptop has seen better days and is about 5 years old now, so the iPad 2 will be ideal for me publishing content on here and doing a whole range of other things whilst I’m not at home.  I’m very impressed with the iPad 2 so far and it’s already impacting my work in a positive way, it just works.

Having purchased many apps way back on my iPhone 3G & iPhone 4, I discovered that a lot of apps I downloaded in the past were compatible with the iPad 2 – which came as a nice surprise as I didn’t have to re-purchase any of my favourites.

Now that I own an iPad 2, I will be writing new pieces in the following weeks, like ‘apps of the week’ and also a range of ‘how-to’ articles once I get more hands on experience with the device, so stay tuned for them.

I’m still not a massive Apple fan (it’s mostly their prices and being limited to what you can customise on their devices that puts me off) and think that after selling my iPhone 4 and owning a Blackberry for the best part of a year now – I will definitley be taking a trip down the Android route for all my mobile phoning needs, when my upgrade date arrives in May this year (Galaxy S3 anyone ? N.b – I will be posting an article on the S3 when it’s revealed at the beginning of May). However (being a tech-head) I do love the iPad and I guess now that I own an iPad 2, I’m going to have the best of all worlds really come the 3rd of May; Android on my phone, iOS on my iPad and Windows on my desktop, and you really can’t go wrong with a combo like that.

Anyway, enough is enough for now – first impressions of the iPad 2…its just simply blown me away (and I haven’t even had much time to play about with it yet!).

Stay tuned for more iPad news/app reviews and how-to articles in the near future.

About smellslikevictory

BEng (Hons) graduate in Electrical & Electronic Engineering. Enjoy travelling, working out and all things techy

Posted on April 29, 2012, in Gadgets, Mobile, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

