New Gaming/AV Set-Up

Firstly, before I get started with the main post. I just want to say I hope you all had a very merry Christmas yesterday and I wish you all the best for 2012 when it arrives. It’s been a very busy month for me, with an increase in hours at work and trying to sort things out for Christmas, free-time has been very hard to find lately.  As a result of this, I have been a tad AWOL and I will try posting a lot of new stuff when I get the chance. Right, back on topic and please excuse my crappy Blackberry phone camera (it sucks !)…

After using a 22″ BenQ monitor for most of my gaming needs over the last 2-3 years, I have finally upgraded to something a little bigger and better. Due to working quite a lot this month and the fact I’ve been wanting to buy myself a nice flatscreen TV for a good while now, I took the plunge and upgraded my 22″ monitor to this…

LG 42LW650T: 42", Full HD 1080p, Cinema 3D, LEDplus TV

The LG 42LW650T: A 42″, full HD 1080p, cinema 3D, LEDplus TV (so glad there isn’t anymore D’s, B’s, P’s or HD’s involved in the description: ”Yeah I got a..wait for it… a 42 inch full 1080p, HD, 3D, LED, Freeview HD, MP3, USB, DVD, TV” – you get the idea).

But wait theres plenty more…

I decided to go with the LG for a couple of reasons, the first, was that it was within my budget (700-800 pounds) Still expensive  yet a lot cheaper than it was. I bought it for £750 with a 5 year guarantee, reduced from over £1000. The second reason, was that I had been in a shop having a demo of this series of cinema 3D TV and it completely blew me away.

So I went down to my local Richer Sounds store a month later and had a demo of the 42″ version they had on display, and it was just mind-blowing. The TV itself is 850Hz and has 200Hz TrueMotion (which I don’t like – it kinda makes the picture look too real to an extent that it looks fake, if that makes any sense. Not the picture quality but the movements from within the picture your looking at). The Cinema 3D, is the 3D that you experience in the cinema, called passive 3D. This means the glasses are much lighter and cheaper than the ‘active glasses’ you get for the active 3D TV’s. I got 7 pairs of passive glasses with the LG, and I can use the ones from the cinema as well if I wish. Which will save plenty of money in comparison to the active glasses you get, which cost about £70 a pair, cinema ones cost about £1.50-£2 a pair.

Another advantage of passive 3D technology over active 3D technology, is a better 3D picture, less crosstalk and less flicker. Active 3D TV users claim to feel nauseous and tend to get a bit of a sore head after watching 3D media on their active TV’s for longer periods of time. Whereas on the passive screen, at least for myself, I don’t get headaches at all. I did experience a bit of dizziness with the active 3D Samsung TV that I was interested in, and that was only after 20 minutes of having the glasses on, so I’m glad I didn’t go with that one in the end.

The LG LW650T is a really nice TV which displays HD and non-HD content brilliantly. You can check out a full spec list of the TV at the very bottom of this post. Gaming on this TV is unbelievable too, I tried out Call of Duty: Black-Ops in 3D along with Gears of war 3 and it is something spectacular. I still have to set my desktop PC up to it, I will get around to that eventually. Over on the AV forums, people were complaining about the input lag on the TV whilst gaming, but I do not get any what so ever. Maybe I do but it must be so small that I just don’t notice any input lag at all. I think the tests that LG done on the TV, regarding the input lag, returned results of around 20ms whilst in ‘Gaming mode’ – which is not noticeable. When I tap ‘B’ to crouch in Call of Duty, my character immediately crouches, when I pull the trigger to fire, I immediately fire. moving the character around screen has no delays either, so I’m extremely happy with the TV, as I will be using it for mostly online gaming, watching the football and Blu-Rays.

”Wait a minute, Blu-Rays ?”, I hear you say.

Thats right folks, I thought since I’m getting a TV and they had some proper sweet deals on the PS3’s at the time, I might as well pick up a 320Gb PS3 slim.

Mainly for the 3D Blu-Ray player I admit, but I will no doubt be picking up a few PS3 exclusive games eventually. I’ve not quite got round to setting up a PSN account yet, however, if you ever fancy playing a couple of games online, leave a message in the comments section below and we’ll sort it out. The games I’ve got just now are Uncharted 3, Fifa 12, Dead Nation & Infamous (both of which I managed to download from the PSN ‘welcome back’ package for free with my old PSN account I set-up over a year and a half ago). I also have the PS Move starter pack with some move game, but these haven’t been opened yet as I don’t think I will use them.

LG LW650T + 120Gb Xbox 360 + 320Gb Slim PS3

So thats my set-up so far: A 42″ LG LW650T, 120Gb Xbox 360 Elite and a 320Gb Slim PS3. The plastic wrapping has now been removed from the TV, I had taken this photo just 20 minutes after removing it from its massive box. All I need now is a nice sound-system!

LG LW650T Specification:

Screen size (in.)

42 Inch

Display Type

LED

LED Plus

Yes

Full HD (1080p)

Yes

Resolution

1920 x 1080

3D TV

Yes

Cinema 3D

Yes

Compatible with Sky 3D

Yes

Brightness (cd/m2)

400

Contrast Ratio

9,000,000:1

Motion Clarity Index

850Hz

WCC (Wide Color Control)

Yes

LED Blocks

16 Blocks

Local Dimming

Yes
Video

😄 Engine

Yes

Aspect Ratio Correction

7 modes (No Zoom Mode) (16:9, Just scan, Original, Full Wide, 4:3, 14:9, Cinema Zoom 1)

Color Temperature

Cool/Medium/Warm

Just Scan

(HDMI/Component/RF)1080i / 1080p / 720p

HDMI

4

Real Cinema 24p (24p 5:5/2:2 Pull down)

Yes

Expert Mode/ ISF Ready

Yes

Eye Care (Anti Dazzling)

Yes

Freeview HD Built In

Yes

Fresh White

Yes

xvyCC

Yes

AV Mode

Cinema / Game

Picture Mode

7 Modes (Vivid, Standard, Cinema, Sport, Game, isf Expert1, isf Expert2)

Picture Wizard

Picture Wizard II (Customised Easy Self Callibration)

Enhanced Noise Reduction

3D & MPEG

Audio

Mono/Stereo/Dual (MTS/SAP)

Yes

Audio Output

10W + 10W

Speaker System

1 Way 2 Speakers

Dolby Digital Decoder

Yes

Surround System

Infinite 3D Surround

Sound Status Mode

5 modes ( Standard/Music/Cinema/Sport/Game)

Bass/Treble/Balance

Yes

Auto Volume

Yes

Clear Voice

Yes (Clear Voice 2)

Special Features

Intelligent Sensor

Yes

Auto Demo

Yes

1080P Source Input

HDMI 60p/50p/30p/24p Component 60p/50p

A/V Input Navigation / EZ Input Toggle

Yes

Input Labeling

Yes

Key Lock

Yes

SimpLink (HDMI-CEC)

Yes

Magic Motion Remote Control

Optional

Jack Pack (Side)

HDMI/HDCP Input

4

USB 2.0

x2 (JPEG, mp3, MPEG-4/DivX, Service)

CI slot

1

Jack Pack (Rear)

RF In

1

AV In

2

Full Scart

1

Component in (Y,Pb,Pr) + Audio

1

Digital Audio Out (Coaxial/ Optical)

1(Optical)

RGB In (D-sub 15pin) – PC

1

PC Audio Input

1

LAN (For Modem)

1

RS-232C (Control / SVC)

1

Headphone out

1

Wireless Control

Yes

Convenience

Smart TV

Yes

NetCast

Yes

App. Store

Yes

Third Party Services

“Third party services may be changed, removed, or interrupted, without notice, and LG makes no representation or warranty that any content or service will remain available for any period of time”.

Connectivity

Wireless Dongle

Ready (Not Included)

Magic Motion Remote

Ready (not included)

Wireless HD Ready

Yes

DLNA

Yes

Power

Consumption (Typical W)

96.77

About smellslikevictory

BEng (Hons) graduate in Electrical & Electronic Engineering. Enjoy travelling, working out and all things techy

Posted on December 26, 2011, in Playstation 3 / PSP, Technology News, Uncategorized, Xbox 360 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

